Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Hallowed (Unearthly #2) by Cynthia Hand Review

Name: Hallowed
Publisher: Harperteen
Release Date: January 17th, 2012
403 pages

For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought. 


Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

Described by Richelle Mead as “utterly captivating,” Unearthly received outstanding reviews, garnered accolades from New York Times bestselling authors, and was named an Indie Next Pick. In this heart-wrenching sequel, Cynthia Hand expertly captures the all-consuming joy of first love—and the agony of loss. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Lauren Kate, Becca Fitzpatrick, and Aprilynne Pike.-Goodreads

My Review:
When I first starting reading Hallowed, I was a little bit worried that I wouldn't enjoy this one as much as Unearthly because sometimes the second book to a series isn't as great as the first. As Hallowed went on, I was totally blown away and this easily became my favorite book in the series (so far!!).

Hallowed has a very different tone then Unearthly, which was really refreshing to see a different side of our favorite characters!! I'm not going to lie, there are moments in this book that are really depressing and sad, and yet Cynthia Hand writes this book so beautifully that I couldn't put this book down!
I really really loved the angel moments in Hallowed. These scenes were so beautifully done and I really liked learning more about the angel history and how it involves Clara and her friends.

And of course. The romance in this novel blew me away. (if you haven't read the first book please stop reading here!) I am not a huge fan of love triangles but I actually loved how Cynthia Hand made this love triangle work and she made it feel so believable and real. I really liked seeing another side to Clara and Tucker's relationship and I also loved seeing her react with Christian!!
The character development in Hallowed also was really great. Clara changes in so many ways and really develops into a character that I feel that I can relate to and I want to read more about!

The ending of Hallowed was so heartbreaking and so beautiful..and it just made me want to keep rereading this book over and over again. I wish that the third book could come out now because I am desperate to read more in this series!

Overall, I really really enjoyed Hallowed. It was so well written, and while it has a somber tone, it really worked for the series. There were so many moments, while reading this book, that I wanted to laugh/cry/cheer for Clara. I cannot wait to read the third book in the series and see what happens next!! I hope you all check out this book and if you haven't read the series PLEASE do so :)

My Rating: Five out of Five Stars

p.s. if you have already read this book and want to theorize/discuss it tweet or email me! I would love to chat :D

7 comments:

  1. I absolutely loved the book. It was really easy for me to connect with the main character, Clara. There were parts where I wanted to cry and parts that I couldnt stop myself from laughing out loud. This series is fantastic and I would be competely mortified if it was a short series of lets say, a trilogy. I'd be so much more satisfied as a reader if it had at least six books to the series. I know it has to end some time, so six doesn't seem like too much to ask for.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree with 6 books! I can't wait for the next book to come out! I hope it comes out soon because I am dying to know what will happen!!!

      Delete
  2. Great book. I loved it too :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh I think I have the first in this series! You just made me want to bump it up on my read list. Great Review!!!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Aw I got halfway through your review and couldn't read any further! *sulks*. I'm really looking forward to this series! I actually have Hallowed, but not Unearthly--can't wait to get to it! ESPECIALLY AFTER YOUR REVIEW!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You really need to read Unearthly!! When I first got it I stayed up for most of the night reading it :D

      Delete

Thank you so much for commenting :) I love reading all comments and they really do make my day!